

Human Resources Department Memo

Date: March 1, 2017

To: Mayor or Council

From: Kay Bolick, HR Director

Re: Christmas Eve Holiday

Currently, the City of Smyrna is the only government jurisdiction in Cobb County that does not observe at least 10 holidays. All Cobb jurisdictions, with the exception of the City of Smyrna, observes a full day holiday for Christmas Eve. The City of Smyrna provides a ¹/₂ day for this holiday.

Below lists the surrounding jurisdictions and the number of holidays recognized:

- **Cobb County** observes 10 holidays
- Marietta observes 10 holidays
- **Powder Springs** observes 10 holidays
- Austell observes 10 ¹/₂ holidays (including 2 ¹/₂ for Christmas)
- Kennesaw observes 10 holidays
- Acworth observes 10 holidays
- Woodstock observes 10 holidays
- Cherokee County observes 12 holidays (including 3 days for Christmas)

In 2015 and 2016, the City of Smyrna's Mayor and Council have authorized the additional ¹/₂ day off for Christmas Eve. In an effort to remain competitive with the surrounding jurisdictions, it is recommended that the City modify its personnel policy to recognize Christmas Eve as a full holiday, providing 10 holidays.

If approved, it is further recommended that the City of Smyrna observe Christmas Eve and Christmas in 2017 on Monday/Tuesday (Dec. 25 & 26), the same days to be observed by all other jurisdictions.