

City of Smyrna

City of Smyrna
A.Max Bacon City Hall /
Council Chambers
2800 King Street
Smyrna, GA 30080
770-434-6600
www.smyrnacity.com

Legislation Text

File #: 2019-416, Version: 1

WARD: Citywide

COMMITTEE:

\$ IMPACT:

Approval to record the Official City Election Results for the General Municipal Election for the City of Smyrna for Mayor and Wards 1 - 7 held November 5, 2019. There were 7,954 ballots cast 21.73% of 36,597 registered voters in the Municipal General Election.

Mayor, Registered voters (36,597) 7918 total votes cast 21.63% of registered voters, Alex Backry - 100 - 1.26%, Ryan Campbell - 1,963 - 24.79%, Laura Mireles - 394 - 4.98%, Derek Norton - 3,725 - 47.04%, Steve Rasin - 1,736 - 21.92%.

Ward 1, Registered voters (3,931) 522 total votes cast 13.28% of registered voters, Glenn Pickens ran unopposed - 432 votes - 100%.

Ward 2, Registered voters (5,100) 701 total votes cast 13.75% of registered voters, Incumbent Andrea Blustein - 341 votes - 50%; Austin Wagner - 341 - 50%, this ward will go into a runoff. Ward 3, Registered voters (6,535) 1639 total votes cast 25.08% of registered voters, Incumbent Maryline Blackburn - 766 votes - 47.05%; Travis Lindley - 862 votes - 52.95%.

Ward 4, Registered voters (5,519) 1640 total votes cast 29.72% of registered voters, Incumbent Charles (Corkey) Welch ran unopposed received - 1,319 votes - 100%.

Ward 5, Registered voters (4,071) 869 total votes cast, 21.35% of registered voters, Suz Kaprich - 72 votes - 8.42%, James (JD) Smith - 340 votes - 39.77%, Susan Wilkinson - 443 votes - 51.81%. Ward 6, Registered voters (5,594) 1342 total votes cast 23.99% of registered voters; Incumbent Tim Gould ran unopposed with 1,120 votes 100%.

Ward 7, Registered voters (5847) 1,241 total votes cast 21.22% of registered voters; David Monroe - 518 votes - 43.02%, Lewis A. Wheaton - 686 votes 56.98%.

The Council Elect is Ward 1 - Glenn Pickens; Ward 3 - Travis Lindley; Ward 4 - Charles (Corkey) Welch; Ward 5 - Susan Wilkinson; Ward 6 - Tim Gould; Ward 7 - Lewis A. Wheaton There will be a runoff election December 3, 2019 for the office of the Mayor - Runoff candidates Ryan Campbell and Derek Norton and for the office of Ward 2, Runoff candidates Incumbent Andrea Blustein and Austin Wagner.

ISSUE:

<u>Total Registered voters in the City of Smyrna 36,597, 7,954 ballots were cast in total for the City's General Municipal Election</u>.

Mayor Candidates

Alex Backy; 100 votes, 1.26% of registered voters

Ryan Campbell, 1,963 votes; 24.79% of registered voters Laura Mireles , 394 votes; 4.98% of registered voters File #: 2019-416, Version: 1

Derek Norton; 3,725 votes; 47.04% of registered voters Steve Rasin; 1,736 votes; 21.92% of registered voters

7,918 votes for the Mayors race for 21.73% of registered voters.

No candidate received 50% of the votes, the Mayors race will be in a runoff for the top 2 candidates Ryan Campbell and Derek Norton December 3, 2019.

Ward 1 total registered voters (3931) 522 ballots were cast, 13.28% of registered voters

Glenn Pickens; 432 votes; 100.00%

Ward 2 total registered voters (5,100) 701 ballots cast 13.75% of registered voters

Andrea Blustein; 341 votes; 50% Austin Wagner; 341 votes; 50%

This vote tied and will be in a runoff December 3, 2019

Ward 3 total registered voters (6,535) 1,619 ballots cast 25.08% of registered voters

Maryline Blackburn, 766 votes; 47.05% Travis Lindley, 862 votes; 52.95%

Ward 4 total registered voters (5,519) 1,640 ballots cast 29.72% of registered voters

Charles (Corkey) Welch; 1,319 votes; 100.00%

Ward 5 total registered voters (4,071) 869 ballots cast 21.35% of registered voters

Suz Kaprich; 72 votes; 8.42%

James (JD) Smith; 340 votes; 39.77% Susan Wilkinson; 443 votes; 51.81%

Ward 6 total registered voters (5,594) 1,342 ballots cast 23.99% of registered voters

Tim Gould; 1,120 votes; 100.00%

Ward 7 total registered voters (5,847) 1,241 ballots cast 21.22% of registered voters

David Monroe; 518 votes; 43.02% Lewis A. Wheaton; 686 votes; 56.98%

BACKGROUND: The offices of Mayor and City Council serve 4 years terms, all offices run for office every four years.

RECOMMENDATION/REQUESTED ACTION: